Really, really tired.

Med changes can cause a fellow to lose sleep and feel bad.

When I feel bad, then I wind up drinking caffeine, and then I can’t sleep, and then I feel bad.

So Ethel picked this week to buy a new bed.

bed

By ‘a new bed’ I don’t mean the humungous timbers of raw pine that hold up the mattress and box springs; I mean the mattress and box springs itself. Why did we buy a new one? Well, it’s complicated.

We are refurnishing the small Purgatory condo to put it back into the rental pool and put it on the market to sell. So we’re going to take the bed that we pulled out of there when we moved across the parking lot to the big condo, and we’re putting it back. Thus, we needed another bed to replace it.

We were going to buy a new bed for up there – and we are doing so, when by ‘bed’ we mean ‘the thing that holds up the mattress and box springs’. But when we looked at how much we would be spending, we decided to replace our bed down here with the new stuff and put the old stuff up there.

(editor’s note – over the last few years, I believe that a count of days would show that we’ve spent more days in Colorado than in Arizona, but it would be close. So maybe it really doesn’t make sense to replace the bed down here, when we are spending just as much time up there. But it is possible that we might sell that place and move to Steamboat or some other ski town, and if we do, then we will sell it furnished, because that’s how you sell ski condos. And if and when we sell this place, we’ll be taking the bed with us. So, there is some rationality here).

So this week, when I’m having troubles with my meds and with caffeine, Ethel brings a new sleeping surface into the house.

..To be fair, I’ve also got work troubles. I had a project that I got stuck on several times, and finally spent last weekend getting it to work, then I couldn’t figure out how to deploy the application to QA (it was a major rewrite, using different tech, and I couldn’t get it to load and run int the old website). This messed with my sleep, as well.

So I am very, very tired.The grainy-eyeall kind of tired. The having-trouble-concentrating kind of tired. Which isn’t helping my productivity at work. Which isn’t helping my stress levels. Which isn’t helping my sleep.

 

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

