Coot Scoot Boogie

Ten days ago, Ethel and I were playing at The Legend At Arrowhead, and this is what we saw at the lake on the 18th hole:

rowofcootsThose are “coots”. One of the guys we were playing with said that they line up there looking for fish. If so, it doesn’t look like they’d seen any in a while.

The title of this post is a shout-out to Brooks and Dunn, the 90′s country music duo. Today, I’m listening to Clint Black Radio on Pandora, which is going to generate a bunch of nice traditional honkey-tonk type music. Much to my surprise, I learned that Brooks and Dunn were the biggest selling musical duo of all time – beating even Simon and Garfunkel. I’d also sort of thought of them as the Country Hall and Oates, and I’m still not sure that they aren’t the same guys – you never see ‘em at the same parties.

Right now, I’m hearing Randy Travis sing “I’m Gonna Love You Forever, Forever And Ever Amen”. Good stuff.

This morning was another 10 miles, plus some core and resistance work. Time was when I would eat some raisins and honey before a workout like this, and drink GatorAde during the run, and then eat a protein bar or shake afterwards. But now that I’m on the Atkins diet (because Ethel is on the Atkins diet) I do this workout with nothing before, PowerAde Zero during, and my post-workout meal is a Tupperware bowl with two cans of tuna, two spoonsful of mayo, a handful of shredded mozzarella, and some pickles. Yum, yum!

So far, I’m not having the effects that other folks get from Atkins. Maybe it’s too much cheese.

Okay, enough of this. Time to get back to work after lunch.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

