Fried Srimp, Fricaseed Srimp, Boiled Srimp….

 

Whenever we Pucketts start the litany of Bubba’s Srimp, that’s how we start it out.

Well, we’re wrong, again. Saw this sign at Bubba Gump Shrimp in Cancun when we left Isla the other day:

srimpOh, well. I’m married. I’m used to being wrong all the time : )

Well, here I am, at the Oakland airport. I’ve just finished two days of orientation and setup at Workday, in Pleasanton, which is where I work now. I am very, very happy and grateful to be there; the more I learn, the more I like it.

I want to make the best of this opportunity. However, I might want to be careful; I woke up at 1:30 AM thinking about how I can get ahead of the curve in this job; I don’t want to burn out, so maybe I’d best take it slow.

Or should I? It may be that I am so constituted that I’m not able to “take things slow” for very long; if I take it easy too long, I might just stay easy; maybe my subconscious sees “taking it easy” as another way of saying “I don’t care”. Because, when I care, I care a LOT.

Okay. I think I’ll just run with it : )

But I won’t run with it much further today; I iz done slap dab give out. Getting up at 1:30 means starting the day very, very early, and there is a price that has to be paid. I think I’m paying it now : )

Strangly, I find that I am sweating, and I don’t know why. This is Oakland; cooled by the Bay breezes. Why would I be sweating?…but it can’t be denied; I am uncomfortably warm and moist.

I’m going home to Salt Lake City.

Well, actually, I should qualify that with some quotation marks; I should say “home” because we still don’t have one; we’re living out ofsuitcases at Dr Janet’s house, except when we leave there and live out of suitcases elsewhere. We’re still three weeks out from closing on the townhome (and I’m not sure that it’s going to happen; there are paperwork problems). But even then I won’t be living there – by the time we have a home, I’ll be back out here for five weeks of Boot Camp.

The end of October. I am hoping that, by the end of October, Ethel and I will have a place that we can call our own again, with our own sheets and pillows : )

But I might be wrong again….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

