26 Years

…ain’t nearly long enough : )

Here are Ethel and I at the Tolum ruins in the Yucatan Peninsula a couple of weeks back…

smoochesTwenty six years ago last night, Kim (not yet KimPuckett) was sitting at our kitchen table on Runnymeade Avenue in Decatur, AL. All around her was a flurry of activity; friends and relatives preparing things for our wedding the next day.

Kim wasn’t involved in all of that. She was sitting there in a kimono, barefoot, the warm calm center of the storm, and I couldn’t take my eyes off of her.

It’s twenty-six years later, and we are homeless. There is a flurry of activity all day and all night, and there is no end in sight. But in the stillness of the mornings, sitting in our friend Dr. Janet’s living room, I sit on the couch with my morning book and my Franklin Planner, and she sits in the big cigar chair, in a kimono, barefoot.

And I can’t take my eyes off of her : )

Thank you, dear wife, for marrying me.

3 comments
  1. Donna M Rode said:

    Happy Anniversary! :-)

  2. Phil said:

    Jim,

    Barbara and I celebrate or 29th this coming Sunday. Like you, I feel incredibly blessed to have had her agree to marry me. For as MY friends have pointed out on more than one occasion, unlike me, she had/has options ;-)

    Congratulations to both you and Kim!

    Phil

  3. Dave C said:

    Happy anniversary!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

