Turn Around, Barry

so Fiber One has done an ad to the tune of “Total Eclipse of the Heart” – Turn Around, Barry.

turnaround

I saw this the other day at the gym (SAW it but didn’t HEAR it – they had closed captioning on. Wasn’t hard to see the filk, even if I couldn’t hear it. Turn around, Barry : ) I still haven’t actually seen the whole thing; if you click that link, you’ll see it before I do (I’m in a classroom full of people while I’m typing this; seems that most of them aren’t Bonnie Tyler fans : )

I had no idea that there was a Total Eclipse revival going on until I went online to find the above video – seems that there was a Mastercard commercial a while back where The Voice Herself redid the song with brand-specific lyrics, and there’s some diva impersonator who has done the song in the style of Cher and Streisand and othersĀ (gotta go give that a look see when I can).

But it hit me this morning when I was doing my workout and my iPod served up the original; this is a song that goes back to my drinking days, when my self-important self-centeredness somehow made this song about me (helped along by the fact that my first wife, Bonnie, had married my next door neighbor, surname Tyler – get it?)

I have always loved Jim Steinman’s songs – yes, he’s the same guy who wrote all of those Meat Loaf songs, plus some other of the Voice’s contributions (Faster Than The Speed of Night comes to mind). But his lyrics always refer to boys and girls, rather than men and women; things tend to be a little adolescent in Jim Steinman songs : )

But I never really GOT Total Eclipse of the Heart until this morning. It was always obvious that the song was about something important, but none of the meanings that I laid on it ever really fit.

I was doing my core work after my run, and it just so happens that TEotH is at the perfect cadence for crunches. So I’m doing my crunches and suddenly I’m just hit with a wave of emotion.

The song isn’t about a lost love. The song is about a love that remains when everything else has fallen away; the relationship remains when all of the other things in the singer’s life are going down the tubes.

Say, when maybe she loses her job, and has to sell her house, and both condos in Colorado, and leave her family and friends and go to Utah. I mean, for instance.

If somebody were to like, maybe, go through something like that : )

Ethel and I have noted quite a few times through the last couple of months that all we really have to hold onto, in this world, is each other. Everything else seems to be falling apart, but when we look across the table, the most important thing in this world is still sitting there.

(Turn around)
Every now and then
I get a little bit restless
And I dream of something wild
(Turn around)
Every now and then
I get a little bit helpless
And I’m lying like a child in your arms
(Turn around)
Every now and then
I get a little bit angry
And I know I’ve got to get out and cry
(Turn around)
Every now and then
I get a little bit terrified
But then I see the look in your eyes

Turn around, bright eyes : )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

