Cars Don’t Have Feelings.

They don’t. They really don’t.

But damned if’n I don’t feel like they do.

Here’s the new (I should say “used” but the official Audi speak is “Certified Pre-Owned” or “CPO”) car, downstairs right now in the parking garage:

TTThis is a 2009 Audi TT 2.0 Quattro Coupe.

Four years ago, when we first started spending our winters in the mountains, I realized that, even though it was built in Bavaria, my BMW Z3 was never going to be a vehicle that I could drive in snow country.

It may have been my own research, or it may have been my friend Ian, who is an Audi freak, and who seems to have undue influence over my more stupid decisions (see other blog post wrt stupid race bets, the latest being this silly half-Ironman thingy) but I learned that the Audi TT Quattro was a very good sports car for the snow, and I said something along the lines of “When the Z3 dies, if we still have a place in snow country, I reckon I might like to get one of those Audi TT Quattro thingies”.

(The suitability of anybody who says “reckon” thinking about getting an Audi is a suitable subject for another blog post that I will never write. Discuss amongst yourselves – essay question, 25 points)

At any rate, I’ve had quite a few problems lately with my car recently, as had Ethel. On Saturday we bought a new car for Ethel; on Monday, I found out that they won’t be able to easily or cheaply fix the things that are wrong with the Z3.

And even if we could keep fixing things, at the end of the day I still wouldn’t have a car that I could drive in the snow.

So when I found this out yesterday, my loving and supportive wife had me type “Best Sports Cars In The Snow” or somesuch search into Google, and the very first entry was that aforementioned Audi TT Quattro.

So we went to cars.com and took a look, and there was a great TT Quattro at a dealership four blocks away.

I called the dealership and they said that that car was not on the lot, because it was being detailed, becaues it was getting Certfied, and it should be back on the lot late afternoon, but he would call me if it was earlier.

I went ahead and did more research, and had a list of 180 cars at various dealerships around the county, but before we got going, the Audi dude called me back and said that he had that car on the lot.

I never looked at car #2.

Walking into the dealership, we passed a car and Ethel said “Is that it?” and I said “No, that can’t be it” – but that was it. Gorgeous vehicle, amazing.

The purchase was a breeze – never had such a pleasant buying experience. I did the test drive, and then the salesman took me on a test drive showing me how the car CAN be driven and SHOULD be driven. After the decision was made, I was out the door in an hour. Got the car home and took Ethel for a drive – lots of fun.

Then, this morning, I went to pick my the BMW at the shop and drove it home – and parked it in the parking lot outside the condo.

And now the Audi goes in the garage, and the Z3 stays outside until we sell it.

And that just feels so wrong – so very wrong.

MY car – the car I’ve been driving for seven years – is sitting there looking at me, wondering why it is having to stay outside while this…this…other car gets to be in the garage; gets to be driven; and I suspect that the BMW knows that something is wrong, and I’m afraid that it KNOWS what is wrong, and is hurting.

And, just like when I took Maia the Park City wolf sled dog to the desert, where she was miserable, this poor car is being betrayed by my instability; I bought the car in the desert and brought it to Park City. The problems with it showed up up here; some were caused by the cold, some were exacerbated by the cold. And the main problem – the fact that she is a rear-wheel drive vehicle in an all-wheel-drive environment – is my fault completely.

Now, when I sell this car, I’ll sell it to somebody who either has enough garage space to keep this car for the summer, or somebody who lives in the Valley and who’ll be able to drive this car all year. And then the car will be used properly, as she should be. I couldn’t do that with Maia, as she was my dog more than she was a snow dog, and it would have broken her heart for me to have given her away. I CAN do that with a car, because cars don’t have feelings.

Yeah. SURE they don’t.

I don’t even want to drive home, because when I get home, I’ll see the Beemer sitting there in the parking lot, and it just breaks my heart.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

