Thank Goodness That’s Over

We finished off the prequels last night, with Episode III – “Revenge of the Screenwriters” – taking a large chunk of my intellectual and emotional capital.

 

It surprised me to learn that this film earned close to a billion dollars at the box office. And that it was received better by the critics than the first two – I admit, maybe it makes more sense than Episode II, but I would assume that by the time this puppy was released, the critics would already have their hate mail pre-written.

Hayden Christiansen is not a “bad actor”, no matter how many times Ethel may have yelled that at the screen during the last two movies. No, I don’t think that he has any chemistry with Natalie Portman, but then I’m not one of those guys who really looks at Natalie Portman.

But Hayden did a passable job in Jumper, which is the only other film of his that I’ve seen. I very much enjoyed that one.

At any rate, now we’re free to watch the original last three episodes. But I’m wondering – how will they look, on a 65″ HD television, almost forty years after the first one was filmed? I remember watching those ships fly around in…when was it, 1976?…and being totally amazed.

But have the intervening years gotten me used to special effects that no longer look like special effects? Will it all seem primitive and clunky?

Or will Hans and Chewbacca still be Hans and Chewbacca, and it won’t matter what sort of hardware I see around them?

 

 

3 comments
  1. Donna M Rode said:

    At least you’ve now seen the prequels. Bil and I turned the first one off without finishing it and never even tried the other two. I was 17 when the very first Star Wars came out and the special effects were so new and innovative and we were just blown away. I guess I still have a sentimental attachment to the first one(s).

    • Oh, we saw them when they came out – we BOUGHT them. I think it was Silas who just had to have them, but I can’t be sure.

      Yes, I have the sentimental attachment as well. I think that I was 17.

      Gee, Donna, that would make you, like, *elderly* : )

  2. Alan B. said:

    IIrc, I believe you saw (what is now) Episode 4 a “few” times. And now Disney has bought Lucasfilm. I see fans on FB justifiably concerned with what Disney may do to the Star Wars mythos. Yet, at least they plan to make more Star Wars movies. We sure waited a long time for the second trilogy and Lucas may have never produced the sequel trilogy.

Leave a Reply

