It’s Gettin’ Deep

Here’s the snow this morning on the rail over the hot tub:

hottubsnow

You could almost see through that thin wall of snow.

But there was no seeing through the stuff on the hill – 14″ in the previous 24 hours (and that was of 5:45 AM, so figure another four inches on top of that by the time the lift opened) on top of the previous 15″ from the last two days. And it’s still dumpin’.

This morning’s skiing was NOT the epic experience that I was hoping for, for several reasons:

1) My friend Dan, who was the liftie on #1 this morning, opened the darn thing up ten minutes early. Now, that sounds great, but if he opens up early and I’m on time, then I’m late. And that’s no fun.

2) My first run down, I took a route to the top of Catharsis that is usually groomed, or at least skied out, but it wasn’t this morning, and I lost a lot of time chuffing through thigh-deep snow on flat ground.

3) After I got going, that run was great – until I hit the jump from the cat track onto Lower Catharsis, and realized in the middle of the air that I was about to land in a field of very large bumps – very SOFT bumps, it’s true, but the fall I took a) twanged my hamstring again, and b) I lost my pole. THIS IS A VERY BAD THING, as I spent the next fifteen minutes looking for that pole.

So by the time I got up for my second run, most of the terrain on the front side was already skied through – you could still get fresh lines, but it was a bit more work. I did head over to the trees on Styx- the first time this year – and the snow under there was as deep as I’ve ever seen it. Wonderful!

I couldn’t go to the back side, because “Work”, but my last run I hit Sxes (N.B. – if you look on the Purgatory¬† Durango Mountain Resort trail map, you won’t see anything called “Sixes” – but we have the old 1993 Purgatory map on our wall here, and it has a run called “666”. That run is now called “No Mercy”, but when I was skiing with a local yesterday, and he said that we should do “Sixes” it took me just a minute to figure out what he meant) and Sixes was in great shape!

N.B. – that “local” I skied with yesterday – Joe, a nice guy and a Georgia fan (his wife is an Arizona fan, so we have some great talks) is a good skier. Now, I was starting to think that I was a pretty good skier, but the first run with Joe taught me otherwise. He’s the best skier I ever skied with; he went to college at Western in Gunnison, while skiing Crested Butte, and his roommate and ski buddy was Seth Morrison – so he was skiing with a world-class extreme skier about the time that I was driving from North Alabama to Boone, NC to ski ice five to ten days a year.

Sheeeesh.

Well, if nothing else, I got two things out of this experience: 1) Humility, and 2) An awareness of just how much better one can be than I am now. That last bit doesn’t indicate how much farther I might go, but instead how much farther there IS to go. (read: a long, long way).

It’s still dumping out there. Tomorrow, though, I’ll probably wait and ski at lunch, as I don’t think my hamstring can stand any more heroics on my part : )

1 comment
  1. Ethel said:

    If you ski at lunch, you ski alone. I’ve arranged my day to take the a.m. off, at least 8:45 – noon.

Leave a Reply

