I Don’t Believe That Estimate

…certainly not when Ethel Andretti is behind the wheel. She made it home from Big Sky to our front door in 5 hours two weeks ago, and that included stopping for gas and fast food.

MaptoBozeman

Today we’re driving up to Bozeman, probably leaving before noon. Two weeks ago we went up, rode with realtors in Bozeman and Big Sky, and skied Big Sky. We’re not skiing this weekend – instead, we’re going to make meetings, go to church, and drive around town.

Obviously, we’re thinking about moving – either to Bozeman or down to the Salt Lake Valley, and we don’t know which. This will all depend on many factors, and God makes those decisions. But we are probably leaving Park City.

Now, we aren’t leaving Park City for any non-skiing place, because I learned my lesson there, and it’s stayed learned. In fact, we’re only going places with more skiing – more real skiing, that is. Park City Mountain Resort and The Canyons are now on the same ticket, and next year the gondola will join them to be the largest single lift-served operation in North America, but an amazing amount of that terrain is green and blue, or mellower blacks, and now that Extreme Ethel has tasted the truly steep and deep, she’s unsatisfied with the Wasatch Back. But Snowbird suited her just fine, and Big Sky is…well, see my last post🙂

So we may just scoot around to the Sandy/Cottonwood Heights area, or we may go up to Bozeman, if our bosses are okay with that option. I’ve checked, and flights from Bozeman to Oakland are in the same price range as flights from Salt Lake (although they take considerably longer – well, hey. That’s on me, then) so such a move wouldn’t interfere with my ability to get to Workday’s home office. And it’s a small university town, and bandwidth is not an issue.

Park City – I still love Park City, but it doesn’t seem to love us. I did all the research before I came back home here, and thought that – despite the aphorism – I could, indeed, go home again. But our church is not the same church – same rector, same deacon, same location, but it’s a fuzzy church. We only went once, and I can’t get Ethel to go back and try again, and I can’t say that I blame her.

The first time back, when I was first interviewing here two years ago, I had dinner that first night with my old running friends, and thought that that connection was solid – but it didn’t last. They weren’t interested in running with me for more than a few months, and they fell away. That was truly a disappointment, but that’s what I get for being appointed.

Now, I suspect that, had we had snow, a lot of this wouldn’t be bothering us, but I haven’t had a powder day since I moved back to Utah. And that is Just. Not. Right. On. So. Many. Levels. There hasn’t been any snow in my yard in weeks- maybe a month. When I left Summit Park in late May of 2005, we still had piles of snow in my yard. This affects me on a visceral level. Park City shouldn’t look like spring in February.

And Ethel is suffering from a problem that I had ten years ago; when I left Park City for Anthem, AZ, it turned out that I could never, ever be happy in Anthem, AZ, because Anthem, AZ, was the place that I’d left Park City for, so it had to be wrong. I didn’t get happy in Arizona until we moved out to New River.

Well, Ethel left her beautiful home in New River and her friends in Arizona for Park City, so she’s never felt comfortable back here. Dang. I’d never thought about that, and she’d never mentioned it until last night, when we were eating dinner at the Baja Cantina at PCMR.

So last week we were looking at homes down in the Salt Lake Valley, and today we’re driving to Bozeman. We already know that we can afford to live in Bozeman; we just want to find out if we really want to be there. Is the church fuzzy? What about meetings? Sure, it’s a college town, so it’s liberal, but I strongly suspect that “liberal” in Montana is different than, say, “liberal” in Vermont.

Now, it’s possible that by next weekend, Park City could be deep and white again, and who knows? I’m sure that that would be a comfort. And since it’s only a 40 minute drive from here to Alta and Snowbird, we might just sit still where we are.

Or we may be on the move again, in a permanent sense. But, for now, we’re driving to Bozeman.

1 comment
  1. Chris said:

    Everything is always changing.

Leave a Reply

