Hammocking

Well, it’s taken some finagling, but I’m finally in my hammock.

hammockikng

This morning was supposed to be a swim with the Coach On Deck crew at the Wave, but a friend who swims elsewhere asked me to swim with her at their club on Friday, so I moved my swim to then.

So I made the 7 AM AA meeting, and then worked up at the house painting the accent walls until noon.

By that time, my friend who had asked me to swim with her suddenly told me that she didn’t want to do that, which left me feeling slightly strange – so I considered going to swim then, but also considered a noon meeting.

But Ethel said “Go get in your hammock”. So here I am.

The hammock has been slightly reconfigured; I raised the leg end up just slightly, as the most expedient way to get the butt higher off the ground; this was necessitated by Juneau’s insistence on being out here on her cable if I’m outside, along with her propensity to bang her head or back into my rear end while it’s swinging. Finally beat that demon.

This is not the best week to hammock, since the highs are hovering around 90 F, which is ridiculous for Whitefish. But I used to live in Tucson and Phoenix; this hammock was actually purchased with the intent of using it at “our place” in Todos Santos or Los Cabos. So I can take the heat.

I don’t know how long I’m going to lay here – the aforementioned bluster notwithstanding, the heat may run me inside eventually. And I have prayed today, which means that I may receive inspiration to go ahead and head to the pool. And, at any rate, we have to go to the flooring and paint places this afternoon; got to pick up the Bama Crimson, get some existing gallons shook (or is it “shaken”?) and we need to check our vessel sinks against the background of the Black Taurus granite, to determine which ones we want to keep.

But, at any rate, it’s been 5.5 hours since I’ve had any coffee; right now, the temp is around 81 F and there’s a light breeze, and the dog is behaving herself.

So, for right now, it’s hammock time!

 

Leave a comment