A Quick Break

According to the local Ace Hardware, I shouldn’t have entered their store since the early 90s:

That’s the last time that I can remember feeling “well”. October, actually, of ’93 – when I ran 3:08:10 (negative splits) and qualified for Boston.

I took yesterday off from my workouts. That wasn’t because of feelings, but instead was because my Form and Fatigue numbers in Training Peaks said “You better not…” – and I was aware that those numbers didn’t reflect the two hour-and-fifteen-minute weight and core workouts that I’d been doing every week, so they were actually understated.

Today I was off anyway, so I’m going to allow that to remain. But tomorrow I jump on the bike, just as planned, and be back out on the roads on Sunday.

I’m listless. I can’t seem to get interested in what I was doing on the piano, I’m not playing my guitar, and I’m only going to 4-5 meetings per week. I’ve been swimming again, but not too much – and now the Wave has implemented a mask rule, which makes me just not want to go there at all.

The rule is for the times when one is not actually exercising – one is supposed to put the mask on while moving from machine to machine. That seems so useless – so I’m supposed to wear the mask when I am NOT exhaling with great force?

But it seems like folks these days just want to pretend that they are doing something, so, if anybody eyes them too closely, they can say “Hey! We’re doing something! Sure, it’s stupid – you know that and we know that – but at least it’s something! Leave us alone!” But that’s just my perception. I have no idea what the truth is. Who knows?

But it does tend to discourage one from going. And, who knows? Maybe that, after all, is what they want to do – just find a way to make folks stay home.

The B1G 10 has announced that they are only going to play conference football games this year – they are cancelling all of their non-conference games. Now the lawsuits start. I don’t understand the reasoning – apparently they think that traveling farther to games exposes their student athletes to more virus.*

So I “rest” today, and get up tomorrow and get on the bike. Then see what happens. Ethel is talking about doing the Columbia Mountain hike tomorrow after we ride. But we wind up not hiking a lot more than we wind up hiking.

Now, I’m going to actually play piano. No, really.

*I’ve venture to guess that leaving high-powered athletes stuck at home for those extra four weekends this fall would result in much riskier behaviors than letting them sit on a plane. But who knows? They may be right.

Leave a comment